Photo Story 014: Samantha’s Vacation 

Samantha is feeling a little lonely being on vacation without her sisters, but something happens to chase away the lonliness!


This photo story was originally hosted on Google Picasa and published on March 22, 2008
Samantha’s Vacation:



Samantha was relaxing on vacation, the only one of the historical sisters to come along to Minnesota.



“Ahh” she sighs. “It is boring without my sisters” Samantha complains to herself. Suddenly she hears the front door close.




Samantha sits up. “I wonder what that was.” She says looking in the direction of the door. “I think I will investigate” Samantha decides.



Scrambling to the end of the bed, she looks down. Samantha hesitates a moment, trying to assess the best way to get down.



Turning, Samantha slides down feet first.



Landing safely Samantha sighs “whew!” as she relaxes for a moment.



Then Samantha continues on, making her way to the bedroom door.



She has a long hallway to walk down.



Finally she arrives in the living room!



Looking toward the front door Samantha comments aloud to herself “I don’t see anyone…”



She then looks around the room. “What is that on the couch?” She asks.



Looking closer Samantha decides that it looks vaguely familiar. “Something from my past?” She questions herself.



Excitedly she runs to the couch as fast as her little legs will carry her. She reaches up in an effort to get on the couch.
 Unfortunately she was too short.




Turning her back on the couch, Samantha looks around for something she can use to climb up.



Off to the side of the living room, she spots the perfect item.



Gripping the strap she tugs and pulls, dragging the purse to the couch. “Boy! This sort of thing is much easier when my sisters are around to help” she huffs to herself.



Scampering up onto the top of the purse, Samantha swings herself up…



…and onto the couch. “Oomph” she grunts. Then straightening “Yay!” she congratulates herself.



“I wonder what this is,” Samantha muses as she gazes closely at the box. “I can’t remember if I have ever seen a box like this before” she thinks hard, trying to capture that nagging familiarity in the back of her head. “Oh!” She exclaims to herself. “This is similar to the box I traveled in when I joined my first family!”



Suddenly the box shook, throwing Samantha backwards onto the computer, and the box top began to lift. “Help me out of here please!” a pleading voice echoes from the depths of the box.



Samantha jumped up and pushed the box top aside.



“My! Thank you very kindly” A young girl Samantha’s age drawled with a southern accent.



“Who are you?” Samantha asks as she reaches down to help the new girl to her feet.



“My name is Addy Walker.” The new girl introduces herself as she lifts a small bundle that appears to be her only belongings.



“My name is Samantha,” Samantha offers. “It is nice to meet you Addy. What do you have there?” Samantha asks, gesturing to Addy’s small bundle. “These are my special things.” Addy explains. “If there is a place to sit, I will show you,” she offers to Samantha. “Follow me” Samantha eagerly replies.



Samantha showed Addy where to climb down the couch so that they could utilize the purse.



Samantha got down first. Addy passed her bundle to Samantha and then climbed down herself.



The girls sit down together. Addy opens her bundle and shows Samantha the contents. “You see, me and my momma escaped slavery together in 1864.” Addy began.



“When we escaped from slavery, my uncle Solomon gave me this half dime.” Addy says, showing her coin to Samantha.



“And this,” Addy continued as she pulled out a round object, “is a gourd for carrying water. My momma and I needed this when we fled slavery.”



“I know this wasn’t in my bundle but this is the most special to me” Addy says as she takes off her necklace to show Samantha. “This is a cowrie shell my momma gave me. It comes from my great grandmother who brought the shell with her when she was taken from Africa to slavery in America.



“So tell me about you and this new family” Addy says as she puts her necklace back on.



“Well, I am from 1904 where I lived with my grandmother, Grandmary, after my parents died.” Samantha began explaining. “Then about a year ago, I joined this family and became the fourth of the historical sisters. In this family, we have four other sisters…



There is Kirsten, who sometimes has a bit of an attitude. She is from 1854 and was a Swedish immigrant to Minnesota with her parents and brothers. She was the second of the historical sisters and joined the family in September of 2006…



Emily is the third of the sisters. She is sort of quiet and has a British accent. She is from 1944 and was sent to America to be safe from the bombing on England during World War II. She joined the historical sisters in February of 2007…



Kit is the fifth of the historical sisters. She is from 1934 where she grew up in Ohio working to become a reporter. She is very nice but sometimes a little noisy. She joined the family in December of 2007…



Finally, the first and oldest of the historical sisters is Molly. She joined the family in 1994 She is from 1944 where she grew up in Illinois during World War II. It is with her family that Emily first stayed after being evacuated from England. Molly and Emily are best friends.” Samantha explained.



“Wow!” Addy exclaimed. “This sounds like a very large family.”



“Yes, it is.” Samantha replied. “But having sisters is a lot of fun. It is like having a bunch of friends who never go away!” Samantha enthused.



“Do you think they will like me?” Addy asks.



“Of course they will!” Samantha reassured Addy as she put her hand on Addy’s shoulder. “In the mean time, I am so glad you have come. You see, I am the only one who came on vacation. I was lonely and bored without my sisters. But now that you are here, I have a new sister and a friend with me again.” Samantha smiled at Addy.



The girls stood up and walked off hand in hand, chatting, laughing, and getting to know each other further. Samantha briefly wondered what Kirsten’s mood would be when they arrived home, but quickly dismissed the concern as it was still a week and a half before vacation would be over.

Leave a comment