Photo Story 003: Kirsten Returns from AGPC

This is the conclusion to story #2, Kirsten Goes to AGPC. It was originally published on March 15, 2007 using the Sony Imagestation platform.
Kirsten Returns from AGPC

Shhhhh. Don’t tell Kirsten. She has a new sister!


“mmmmm” Emily mumbled sleepily as I lifted the cover off her box.


Emily tried to get up but was unable to move as she was stilled fastened in her box. She closed her eyes and concentrated.


“Hello, my name is Emily. Who are you?” Emily said as she popped up from her box. “You are now in my family.” I responded. “Welcome! We’re glad to have you. Kirsten has recently mentioned to me that she wants a sister. I hope you two get a long well.” “Thank you.” Emily replied. “Quick, duck!” I hurried Emily. “Kirsten and her adoptive dad are on the way back to the car. I would like to surprise Kirsten.” “Yes ma’am” Emily said as she obediently ducked.


After our dinner stop I buckled Kirsten in the back seat. She looked in the bag and then up at me suddenly. “What happened?” she asked. “What happened to what?” I stalled. “Where did the boxes in this bag go?” “Oh, I moved them” I replied. “Hello!” spoke a third voice from behind me.


“Emily!” shouted Kirsten as she scrambled to unbuckle herself. “Where did you come from?”


“Last I knew I was in a box then suddenly I awoke to this lady lifting the cover off of my box.” Emily excitedly reported as she gestured to me. “Wait you were in a box!?” Kirsten asked.


“Were you not?” Emily asked with her sweet British accent. “I don’t remember. I don’t think so.” Kirsten replied after thinking for a moment. “Honey” I broke in. “You did indeed travel in a box when you came to me.” “Oh,” Kirsten began “I don’t remember that. What was your box like?” Kirsten asked Emily. “Well, it was very comfortable.” Emily began. “It was quite tall” Emily said as she gestured to demonstrate the height of her box. “Where were you before the box?” Kirsten asked, full of questions for her new sister. “I am not quite sure” Emily thoughtfully replied. “I have vague memories of England and I think I remember a war and then visiting the United States and staying with the McIntire family.”


The girls continued to talk, gesturing excitedly as they explain all about themselves and got to know each other better. Kirsten told about crossing the ocean in 1854 and the big yet crowded ship her family stayed on. Emily explained her experience of crossing the ocean on a ship during the war in 1944. These two seemed to have a lot in common! “Girls” I called. “Yes?” they both responded. “It is time to continue home. You need to sit down and buckle in.”


“I don’t want to sit down yet” Kirsten said “I want to keep talking to Emily.” Before I could responded, Emily spoke up, “We can still talk while we are seated and buckled in. Is that not so?” she asked me. “Yes of course” I quickly answered. In fact, you two can sit together if you like, so that you are even closer.” “Okay” Kirsten happily agreed. “First take a picture of Emily and I!” she commanded. I was about to remind her to say please when Emily chimed in “Oh yes, please take our picture! I am so pleased to have a new sister.” Hmm, perhaps Emily will be a good influence on Kirsten I thought I as I took their picture.


Once the girls were settled in and buckled, we continued on our trip home. “So you are from 1854?” Emily asked Kirsten. “Yes, I came from Sweden and when I moved to Minnesota with my family, I didn’t speak any English.” “That is wonderful that you were able to pick up English. You sound very American.” Emily commented. “Thank you.” Kirsten finally decided to be polite. “I miss my family sometimes but adoptive mom and dad are wonderful.” “That is good to hear” Emily replied. “I too miss my mum and dad, but I am happy to have a family again.” “So tell me about England” Kirsten asked. Emily and Kirsten continued to talk all the way home.


The girls were so exhausted that they climbed into Kirsten’s make-shift bed with their clothes on. “Good-night Kirsten” Emily said as she drifted off to sleep. “Good-night Emily” Kirsten mumbled back. “What? No good-nights for me?” I joked. The only answer I heard were soft snores. “Good-night girls” I whispered as I turned out the lights.


The next morning the girls woke up excited, if a bit frumpy from sleeping in their clothes. “Wow, this place is so much bigger than my box!” commented Emily as she looked around. “Eh, it’s fine.” Kirsten replied. “Now, I know there was more in that bag than just you” Kirsten began to plot.


“Just me?!” Emily asked, a little hurt.


“Oh, I like you fine.” Kirsten replied, catching on. “I just want to know what else they bought us.” “Oh.” Emily said, sounding a bit unsure. “Hmmm,” Kirsten thought. “I know! Adoptive daddy is a softy when I turn on the cute. Maybe we can get it out of him?” Kirsten schemed


“Maybe we should simply ask?” Emily timidly suggested. Kirsten shook her head at Emily “You’ll learn.”


“Adoptive daddy!” Kirsten called. Then quietly to Emily “quick, stand quietly and cute-like next to me.” Emily started to protest. “Quick!” Kirsten hissed. Emily complied.


Much to Kirsten’s disappointment, I came into the room instead. “You girls are awake!” I commented. “Good morning girls!” “Good morning ma’am” Emily replied. “Good morning” Kirsten mumbled. “Would you girls like some breakfast? Your adoptive daddy is busy at the moment.” “That would be delightful, thank you.” Emily responded at the same time Kirsten said “yes please.” “Alright. Come eat breakfast and then afterward we have a surprise for you.” I told them as I walked to the kitchen. “Are you pleased Kirsten?” Emily asked as they scampered off to breakfast. “You will likely get to see what was in the bag now.”


The girls ate fast and quickly returned. “This is for Kirsten” I said as I placed a box in front of her. “Adoptive dad picked it out especially for you.”


“Wow! I wonder what this could be!” Kirsten excitedly exclaimed as she got down to open the box. Emily looked on silently.


As Kirsten opened the box, we all started to hear strange sounds. “That sounds like a crying baby.” Emily commented. Kirsten was very curious now and lifted the tissue paper…


… and out jumped a mama cat and her kitten! “Meow!” the mama cat thanked Kirsten as she lifted her kitten out of the confined space. “Wow!” Kirsten said. “They are so cute!” Before Kirsten could continue Emily whispered in her ear “Remember to thank adoptive dad.” Kirsten turned pink from the reminder but managed to control her temper when she saw the mama cat cleaning her kitten. “Thank you adoptive daddy” Kirsten said enthusiastically.


Kirsten began to pet the mama cat as the kitten played with a ball of string. “What are you going to name them dear?” I asked Kirsten. “I’m not sure.” Kirsten said thoughtfully. “I think I’ll have to wait and see as I get to know them. Maybe they’ll tell me their names.” “Animals cannot speak English” Emily reminded Kirsten. I spoke up before Kirsten could get mad. “I think she knows that Em. She just means that as she gets to know them, their personalities may speak for a particular name to Kirsten.” “Oh” Emily replied.


“I am sorry if I caused you offense, Kirsten” Emily apologized. “I simply did not understand what you meant.” “I understand” Kirsten forgave Emily. “Do you like the cats?” “They are very nice” Emily replied. “You can play with them too” Kirsten offered. I smiled to see the girls getting along so well. “We have a gift for you too Emily.” I told her.


“You do?!” Emily asked surprised. “Of course” I answered. “We would not buy a gift for just one of our girls.” I laid the box at Emily’s feet. “This is from both of us” I explained. “Thank you very much!” Emily gushed before she even touched the box. “I honestly did not expect anything since I am so new.” “You’re very welcome” I replied. “Now go ahead and open it!”


Emily sat down with the box in her lap as Kirsten and the cats looked on. “Ooh” Emily said as she opened the box. “Thank you so very much!” “What is it?” Kirsten asked.


“It is the cardigan my Aunt gave me and other items I first brought over from England.” Emily explained. “They are very special to me” Emily said. “Thank you very much.” “You are very welcome, Emily. Would you like to tell us a little about your items?” I asked.


“Well,” Emily began. “There is the scrapbook in which I have photos of my family as well as the English princesses, Elizabeth and Margaret Rose. I also brought a ration book and a British three-pence. Over here on my left are my granddad’s dog tags from World War I.” “Wow.” Kirsten stated. “Those mean a lot to you, don’t they?” “Yes indeed.” Emily agreed. “Well girls,” I started. “I think it is time we unpack and clean up from our trip. I’m glad you two like your gifts.” “Yes, very much thank you” Emily said again. “Okay, let’s clean up now. We can share another story again sometime.”


Kirsten was too busy with her cats but Emily obediently got up and said to all our visitors “Cheerio! It has been nice meeting you lot and thanks for visiting.”

Leave a comment